Megane Sport Forum banner

Samsung Galaxy S3 software update

6K views 33 replies 11 participants last post by  dapc 
#1 ·
Does anyone have an S3 on Orange? If so, any idea how to update the OS? I've tried plugging it in to Samsung Kies but it it doesn't do anything..... My phone has started to crash lots, so am wondering if there is an update needed for it.

#10 ·
Rooting doesn't cause reliability issues its the ROM/Kernel you run. I've been doing this since 2007 and have had issues with bad ROMs. That is why I go for a Nexus device, latest updates and root access gives me access to a lot of customisations and root only apps.

Granted when I dabbled with a Galaxy S2 and I rooted that I had issues. Some bad ROMs out there for the Galaxy phones.

Research and trial and error is key but I always go back to Nexus.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

#13 ·
Rooting 100% doesn't cause signal issues fella. It must be the ROM you had.

There must be a standard ROM for the S3 that is one of the latest but still gives root access?

The S2 was hard to root and maintain in all fairness so that's why I went back to my trusty nexus. Anyway, the S4 is out soon, change phones or buy a Nexus 4 for £280 from Google :p

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

#14 ·
I've just updated to 4.1.2 and although my phone was ok prior to this, it now has a tab on the edge of the screen that allows me access to all of my app's. Pretty neat. There are subtle changes to the settings menu's, not sure what but it's certainly different.

#26 ·
im on orange aswel and still running the same 4.0.4. I don't have any option to update either. I tried kies and managed to wipe the whole phone and not get any update! rubbish!! from what orange has said to me is that the update should come soon!

#27 ·