Megane Sport Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all fitted my decat on wednesday and thursday and when driving home from work I noticed to car was as quick as a snail! I havnt had the car remaped yet as im hopping I can get it done with in the next few days, would this be my proplem? ONE NICE NOTE LOVE THE SOUND! :)

·
Premium Member
943 Posts
Mine too, I immediately noticed that the turbo spooled up quicker and it pulled a little stronger.

And I was on a standard map at the time.

·
Premium Member
2,586 Posts
I would think the car is expecting certain values from having the cat in. Removing the cat and no remap may well lead the ECU to retard the engine as it is not receiving those values. This is at least how many other cars behave. I cannot comment on Meganes in particular as I have no specific knowledge on them. However Nissans throw a hissy fit.

·
Premium Member
4,798 Posts
You can fit an extender probe to the second lambda sensor to remove it from direct flow and stopping the light coming on the dash.
Or when the car is mapped you can have the sensor mapped out.

Sensor 1 pre cat is already positioned in full flow and doesnt need adjusting.

·
Premium Member
4,798 Posts
I would think the car is expecting certain values from having the cat in. Removing the cat and no remap may well lead the ECU to retard the engine as it is not receiving those values. This is at least how many other cars behave. I cannot comment on Meganes in particular as I have no specific knowledge on them. However Nissans throw a hissy fit.
As do hondas and puts them into limp home mode.

I never had any issues after fitting my decat before it was mapped, except the light coming on every 300miles or so :)

·
Premium Member
1,297 Posts