Megane Sport Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Following on from the thread in the 250 section regarding lap times, semi slicks and power mods I thought I'd start on in here to get some input about having a dedicated track set of tyres for the R26. I've never used them before and literally know nothing about them.

Main question has to be are they worth it for the serious amature and how much could they shave off a lap of say Oulton park, (as it's my local) 2.78 miles long? What are they like to drive on or does this depend on makes, compound levels etc? I've used PS2's for all my track stuff before and they offer good grip and are progressive. If anything steps out of line it's not a major problem to correct. I've heard people say semi slicks are a different ball game and much harder to catch - any truth?

Over to you.

·
Club Member
7,528 Posts
Tell you what MJ I use the federal RSRs there more grippier than the PS2s but still easy to catch when it goes wrong, there also very good in the wet and day to day driving and wear very well and there not to expensive either mate , I swear by them as do the Mazda mx5 race series racers

Steve

·
Registered
5,203 Posts
Following on from the thread in the 250 section regarding lap times, semi slicks and power mods I thought I'd start on in here to get some input about having a dedicated track set of tyres for the R26. I've never used them before and literally know nothing about them.